BFF Birthday!

Happy Birthday BFF!

My best friend turns ** on Wednesday and so, of course, I made her a birthday cake.  (The number has been concealed since we’re old as shit.) I stealthily found out her favorite cake (by asking, uh, hey, whats your favorite cake?) and thought about how exactly to go about making it for weeks.

She wanted a vanilla cake with vanilla frosting.  Totally plain, but seriously delicious.  I bought a french vanilla cake mix (on sale! boom!) and I made a filling for between the layers out of instant pudding and then decorated it with royal icing flowers.  I seriously panicked about the decorations because my original thought was to make her Futurama-themed cupcakes but I had to change my idea when she said she wanted girly rainbow sprinkles to make the cake all precious and adorable, like she is.  So I mixed it up and wanted to make it as girly as I could – a cameo, flowers, pink, putting-a-bird-on-it, etc… so here is how it turned out!

Cake:
Duncan Hines French Vanilla – prepared according to directions.

Filling:
Instant vanilla pudding mix prepared as the ‘pie’ filling on the back of the box

Icing:
For the cake:

Vanilla Icing:
1 stick butter

4oz cream cheese

1/4 cup dry vanilla instant pudding

2 tsp vanilla extract

3 cups powdered sugar

3 tsp water to thin icing

For the flowers and cameos I used royal icing – the recipe is here : http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Royal-Icing and I just dyed it using some neon and regular food coloring.

Here are some close ups of the decorations!

Not properly made pansies, whateva

I made some roses and purple pansies.  I thought they were cute.  I mostly just wanted to play with my petal tip.  (hur hur hur)

The roses turned out really cute!  The icing I made was thinned out too much so the roses kind of melted a little bit.  It created this weird and really pretty melty type texture.

See the tiny yellow birds?

Also, these pictures have been instagram’d like crazy.  I can’t stop pretending I am into photography and photo-editing them.

I’m pretty proud of this cake.  Its my third ‘real’ cake and not cupcakes so I’m really happy with how it turned out.  I skipped a lot of steps – like making sure the icing has been smoothed and not all wrinkley.  But thats mostly because I didn’t have the time to let it set.  I mis-calculated how long an entire cake would take me and ran out of time to make it to the party.  So it is what it is, and I think it was pretty nice.

One response

Leave a Reply

