Christmas Cupcakes Part II

 

 

 

Adorably Festive!

 

..and for my second cupcake I made chocolate peanut butter cupcakes.  I didn’t think the light brown color of peanut butter icing would be very festive, so I made some white chocolate wreaths to put on the top.

For the cake:

Devil’s Food Cake

12oz (1 can) diet cream soda

24 mini reese’s cups – frozen

For the icing:
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

8 tbsp butter

3 cups powdered sugar

2 – 3 tsp water

 

Mix the cake mix and diet soda until combined.  Scoop into cupcake liners and place one frozen reese’s cup in the center, push it down until secured in the batter.  Bake for 15 mins at 350 degrees and let cool

For the icing mix peanut butter and butter until combined and fluffy.  Then stir in the powdered sugar and water 1tsp at a time.  The icing will have the consistency of fudge as you thin it out.  Feel free to eat globs of it.  Peanut butter and butter can’t possibly be bad for your heart or arteries.  STOP EATING THE ICING, FATASS.  Pipe on to cool cupcakes.  The cupcakes will have a little hole in the middle from the reese’s cup.  Just ice over the hole, it’ll be ok.

I topped each cupcake with a chocolate wreath.  I made them the same night as the stupid bundt cake.  I bought green and red melting chocolates from the craft store.  I tried to melt the green but accidentally burned it a little bit so it formed this ridiculous play dough texture.  I rolled them and formed wreaths and sprinkled them with some green sugar crystals to make them more fun.  Then I melted some red chocolates and piped bows on and put a white pearl in the middle of the bow.  I took some artistic license with these wreaths. I melted a second batch of green chocolates and that worked out much better, so I piped them onto a metal cookie sheet that I had put into the freezer for about 10 minutes into flatter wreaths and did my bow stuff.  Those look better and will probably be easier to eat since it won’t be this giant brick of chocolate on these cakes.  Those pretty wreaths go on my boyfriend’s families’ cupcakes.  They need to be impressed with me and my skills.   Anyway, the wreaths are easier to make than you’d think so give it a shot.  If you don’t feel like it, sprinkles are a lazy persons option.

 

Merry Christmas!!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

