Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

may contain nuts

So I bought a baking stone from Bed Bath and Beyond the other day.  Why?  Because adults buy pizza stones and then never use them.  Its a fact of life.  I removed it from the packaging and out flopped a little recipe card for things you can bake on your pizza stone.  One of which was a peanut butter chocolate chip cookie recipe.  So, you know, why not.

3/4 cup shortening (I used butter flavored crisco)

1 1/4 cup self rising flour

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 egg

2/3 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Combine shortening, sugars, peanut butter, egg, and vanilla until mixed through.  Stir in flour until combined.  Add in chocolate chips.  I *MIGHT* have thrown in a handful of peanut butter chips that I had in the freezer.

Roll out dough into small balls, place on baking sheet, bake for 13 – 17 minutes until golden brown.

Eat.

Now… I don’t particularly like these cookies.  I mean, they’re tasty, but not as delicious as I’d hoped.  I mean, sure, I’ll eat them… but meh.  I think its the crisco in them that the recipe called for.  I would normally substitute butter for crisco, but i had a few logs of it leftover from my cookie party before Christmas.  I wanted to get this crisco out of my life so I used it.  It just has that crisco effects on the cookies, a slightly oily taste and the cookies don’t flatten out and stay soft.  They get a little powdery, like a pie crust.

Anyway, these are good.  I won’t make them again.  I made the batter to keep in my freezer and make the cookies when I felt like it.  But I don’t want to be stuck with this dough until its gone.  I will probably bake a ton of them and take them into work and make my coworkers crisco-fat.

Leave a Reply

