Rolo Cupcakes

I love you mommy!

OK, so Mother’s Day is coming up on Sunday.  Since I’m probably the best daughter of all time, and clearly my mother’s favorite I have to keep that up by buying her an awesome gift, taking her to a nice dinner, and baking her delicious cupcakes.  She’s a chocolate fiend, so I had to make her chocolate cakes.  I already made oreo cake for her birthday, so I went rolo.  Logical next step, of course. So, behold, my Chocolate Rolo Cupcakes with Caramel Buttercream Frosting.

They’rsuper adorable and I have a freezer full of rolos.  Someone come eat those – I’m on a diet.

Makes: 24 Cupcakes

1 box of your favorite chocolate cake mix (I used dark chocolate fudge cake, yum)

1 can diet cream soda

24 rolos – frozen for at least 2 hours

Frosting:
2 sticks of butter, softened

2.5 cups powdered sugar

2/3 cup caramel sauce

2 bags of mini rolos, or 24 additional rolos

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine cake mix and diet soda and beat for about 5 minutes with hand mixer.  When the batter is smooth scoop into a lined cupcake tin.   Unwrap 24 rolos and put the rolo in the center of the cupcake.  Push a little until just level with the top of the batter.  Bake for 15 minutes.

In another bowl mix butter with hand mixer until smooth and fluffy.  Add caramel sauce and beat for another minute.  Mix in powdered sugar a portion at a time until the frosting reaches the sweetness and thickness that you like.  Its all about you.  Add more caramel until the frosting doesn’t just taste like butter.

Pipe on frosting and smoosh a rolo on top.  Wah, la!  Fancy.

I hope my mom loves me for all of this.

Leave a Reply

