Homemade Ice Cream Sandwiches

As big as your head!

We’ve had a weekend full of doing things – pedicures, shopping, cook outs, wrestling, birthday parties, beer pong, and good friends and family.  Today was the last day of the three day weekend and all we wanted to do was spend time together in our pool and enjoying the day.  What better way to end the day than with delicious home made ice cream sandwiches?

Ok, so seriously, another reason for these delicious treats is that I am newly obsessed with the Sandwich King on Food Network.  Have we seen this guy?  He’s PRECIOUS.  He’s midwestern and chubby and adorable and makes little lame jokes and shows off his shaggy haired adorable children.  The first episode of his show that I watched was one that I’ve titled ‘The Diabetes Episode’  He made chocolate cake milkshakes and turtle cookie ice cream sandwiches. It was a sugar filled episode of epic proportions.  Anyway, here is the inspiration for the sandwich I made –

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/jeff-mauro/turtle-cookie-ice-cream-sandwich-recipe/index.html

I’m going to take a shortcut here, and just post links to the recipe for the cookies.  I made oatmeal chocolate chip, because lets face it, they’re delicious and amazing. I used the recipe from this website because Lizzy is super cute and posts amazing recipes and I love her and her delicious cookies –  http://www.yourcupofcake.com/2010/10/oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies.html  PS. Don’t tell her that I love her because she doesn’t know I exist and I don’t want to look like some creepy internet stalker. Shh.

look at the java chip goodness and the caramel layer in there!

Yields: 2 enormous ice cream sandwiches

Recipe:
Bake four giant cookies from the dough.   Let them cool and refrigerate or freeze for at least an hour to overnight so that the cookie is sturdy and ready for a schmear of ice cream.

I melted some caramel pieces in the microwave and spread it on one cookie.  Because I love caramel and didn’t want the sticky liquid syrup all over me while I was eating it, so I used the solid form.  Just saying.  I bought the little single serving sized ice creams to use on the sandwiches because I didn’t want a giant container of ice cream in my freezer.  Calorie conscious, you know. I used regular creamy vanilla and my genius boyfriend bought java dark chocolate chip.  He’s so much smarter than me when it comes to ice cream. Anyway, let the ice cream soften so you can spread it onto the cookie.  Smoosh the cookies down onto the ice cream and then freeze for an hour or two so that everything all hardens again and forms a handle-able sandwich.

Now… the cookies I made were seriously pancake sized.  Enormous. They were much too big to deal with so we cut them in half.  The half that I was eating, was still too big so now I have a stomach ache.  But I’m not complaining.

Want a bite?

Leave a Reply

