Dark Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

So.. Father’s Day… right?  I don’t really have a dad.  I mean, obviously I do but he lives in Mexico and I don’t really ever see him so usually Father’s Day is just another Sunday but everyone else has to buy presents and cards and I get to smugly do nothing while all those chumps spend $2.79 on a card.

Anyway, my boyfriend has a real dad so my years of not-having-a-dad are over and I have to celebrate.  No one asks more questions about my cupcakes than my bf’s dad, so I had to make him cupcakes or he’d think I don’t like him.   So I made these delicious cupcakes!

They’re dark chocolate cupcakes with a raspberry cheesecake filling and a raspberry creamcheese buttercream.  And they’re so good.  Way better than I imagined – I don’t really like chocolate cake so I kind of thought the’d be ‘meh’.    I was happily mistaken, though sadly all the cupcakes were eaten and I don’t have any leftovers to pig out on.

Recipe – Makes 24 cupcakes.

Raspberry Cheesecake Filling:
8oz cream cheese

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp raspberry preserves

Beat cream cheese and sugar together until well combined about 3- 5 minutes until creamy.  Beat in egg and vanilla for an additional 1 -2 minutes.  Stir in raspberry preserves, but don’t mix in totally.  You want swirls and pockets of raspberry in the cheesecake filling.  Refrigerate for about an hour or more so its firm enough to handle.  I put mine in over night.

Chocolate Cake:

Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix

10 oz (1 can) diet cream soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Beat the cake mix and soda together until there are no lumps.  Refrain from eating all the batter.  Pour into lined cupcake tins about 2/3 of the way full.   Scoop a heaping spoon full of the cream cheese batter into the cake batter.  Bake for 15 mins at 350.

In the picture I put a washed and dried fresh raspberry to bake into the center of the cupcake.  They were really good that way, but its optional.  I made half with a raspberry and half without and they were equally delicious.  The fruit will release a lot of water so if you’re not planning on eating the cupcakes the same day or the next day, I’d go without the raspberry in the middle.  It will get too soggy and wet to be delicious longer than the day after.

Raspberry Buttercream

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup butter, softened

2 tsp raspberry extract

1/3 cup raspberry preserves

2 – 3 cups powdered sugar

dark chocolate melting candy for drizzle

24 raspberries for garnish, washed and dried to remove extra moisture

Beat the cream cheese and butter together until fluffy.  Add preserves and 1/2 of the raspberry extract.   The extract can make the frosting taste really artificial and gross.  You want to add the extract a little at a time so it doesn’t turn overwhelming and disgusting and you have to start over.  Taste the frosting and make sure its raspberry enough for you.  If not, stir in the second teaspoon.  I used the full 2 teaspoons if you were wondering.   Add the sugar until you reach the desired sweetness and texture.  Mine was a little thin, because I like it that way.  Pipe onto cool cupcakes.   Melt your chocolate and put into a piping bag to drizzle over your cupcakes.  Or, if you were lazy like me and didn’t want to wash a piping bag and tips, cut a tiny corner off the end of a sandwich bag and drizzle onto the cupcakes with that.  Top with a raspberry and eat.

Leave a Reply

