Dutch Apple Pie Cookies

 

Thanks again pinterest!!  These cookies are so amazing I’m so happy they’re in my life.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and wanted to make them as soon as possible.

The original recipe is here – http://food-pusher.blogspot.com/2012/04/dutch-apple-pie-lettes-apple-pie.html – but I modified it a tiny bit.  Something about my insides can’t just make a recipe with real butter and real everything else.  I also don’t even want to try to make my own pie crust.  I don’t have the soul of a pie maker.

Ignore my finger.

 

Recipe:

1 box of refrigerated pie crust

1 1/2 cups of ‘light’ apple pie filling

1/2 cup margarine, cold and cubed

3/4 cup all purpose flour

3/4 cup oats

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

Combine all the dry ingredients into a bowl and stir.  Then mix in the cold margarine with your hands, if you’re a barbarian like I am, or use one of those pastry blade things if you’re a normal human being.  Move 1/2 of that mixture into a separate bowl.  Stir 1/2 of the apple pie filling into 1/2 of the crumble mixture.

Lay out the pie crust and cut out circles using a cookie cutter/biscuit cutter.  Put the crust circles on a greased cookie sheet.  put about 1 tbsp of the apple/crumble mixture onto each crust round.  Sprinkle a bit of the non-apple crumble mixture onto the top of the apple filling.  Bake for 12 – 14 minutes until the crust is golden brown.   Remove from oven and put on a cooling rack.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar and then serve.

 

They are seriously delicious cookies.  My kitchen smells amazing.

Leave a Reply

