Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Look at these sexy little berries

 

So… are you ready for the easiest recipe of all time?  Seriously, two ingredients but the end result is so delicious and so fancy that everyone loves you and thinks you’re amazing.  I was invited to my boyfriend’s mom’s house for a really nice family lunch and I decided to make these little berries to bring with me.  I’m notoriously the cupcake girl so they expected me to bring some kind of baked good… well I like to mix it up a bit.  My boyfriend’s brother really loved these when I made them for the holiday’s last year, and he’s had a rough few months, so bringing these was kind of a ‘here you go lil buddy’ type of gesture.  Plus, they’re like… so delicious.

 

Ingredients –

about 10 oz of melting chocolate candy wafers.  I used the dark chocolate flavored ‘Make and Mold’ brand

strawberries – a regular pound size container that are almost the point where they are too ripe.  The darker the berry, the sweeter the juice I always say.

 

Rinse all the berries under some cold water and peel off any gross looking leaves from the top of the berries.  You can either leave that little green on the top or cut it off.  totally up to you. I like to leave them and use them as a handle.

Pat the berries dry with a paper towel.  This is important because the melted chocolate will not stick if the strawberries are wet and you’ll be left with a gross looking mess.  I also pull the leaves back a little bit so they don’t get dipped in the chocolate.

Melt the chocolate 3oz at a time.  Put them in the microwave for 30 seconds and remove and stir them.  Put them in for another 30 seconds and remove and stir.  Do this for as long as it takes until the chocolate wafers are melted completely.  If you burn the chocolate it will turn into a disgusting waxy consistency so, you know, don’t do that.

Dip the dried strawberries into the melted chocolate and make sure the strawberry is coated but leave some room at the top.  I feel like the appropriate chocolate coating level might be self-explanatory but maybe there are some people out there who are total idiots who don’t know not to cover up the entire thing.   I just dipped them in using my fingers and twirled until it was coated.  When the chocolate level was kind of low I used a spoon to help cover the strawberries.   Set each berry on a sheet of parchment paper until the chocolate is cooled and forms a hard shell.  It takes about 10 minutes to cool and harden.

Then eat them all before anyone else knows you made them. These can be put in the fridge if you have any leftover, but I don’t really like them out of the fridge.  The strawberries will start to release a little bit of strawberry juice-liquid and they get a little sloppy.  But they’re still good.

 

Leave a comment